Communication tools for adapting to climate change

CONTEXTE

Ouranos is a consortium of scientists specialized in adapting to climate change. In recent years, Ouranos has carried out several large-scale studies and research projects with the tourism industry. These revealed the importance of supporting and providing managers with decision-making tools to build a more resilient and efficient tourism economy in the medium and long term.

APPROCHE

Ouranos called on the expertise of Touriscope in order to co-create and disseminate communication tools on climate change adaptation. These tools, whose content is mainly derived from research and studies specific to the tourism industry carried out in recent years, aim to inform various audiences such as tourism development organizations, managers and municipalities, in order to help them integrate climate change into their future strategic vision. Touriscope thus supported Ouranos in popularizing this scientific content and in the search for the best tools so that they remain operational and useful for the various tourism actors.

These tools took the form of:

- Items such as “Did you know that...? ”
- Case studies that highlight forward-thinking managers
- Thematic sheets (outdoor, urban, winter, etc.)

RESULTS

The development of these various tools aims to ensure that managers take ownership of knowledge on climate change, which will ultimately contribute to informed decision-making at various levels (strategy, operation, investment) and the promotion of innovative actions.

Click here to consult the Ouranos Tourism Program information kit.

CREDITS

Photo: Îles-de-la-Madeleine © Tourisme Québec/ Mondoux, Louise

Spotlight on our achievements

An opportunity study for a four-season Mont Farlagne!

Edmunston, N.B.

READ More

Making the Estriade a world-class cycling destination

Estrie, Qc

READ More

Francophone heritage and culture as tourism drivers

Canada

READ More

A mountain plan to adapt to the climate

Monteregie, QC

READ More

Des outils de communication pour l’adaptation aux changements climatiques

CONTEXTE

Ouranos est un consortium de scientifiques spécialisé en adaptation aux changements climatiques. Dans les dernières années, Ouranos a réalisé plusieurs études et travaux de recherche d’envergure avec l’industrie touristique. Ceux-ci ont révélé l’importance d’accompagner et de munir les gestionnaires d’outils d’aide à la décision pour bâtir une économie touristique plus résiliente et performante à moyen et à long terme.

APPROCHE

Ouranos a fait appel à l’expertise de TouriScope afin de co-créer et de diffuser des outils de communication sur l'adaptation aux changements climatiques. Ces outils, dont le contenu est principalement issu de recherches et d'études spécifiques à l’industrie touristique réalisées dans les dernières années, visent à informer différents publics tels que les organisations de développement touristiques, les gestionnaires et les municipalités, afin de les aider à intégrer les changements climatiques dans leur vision stratégique future. TouriScope a accompagné ainsi Ouranos dans la vulgarisation de ce contenu scientifique et dans la recherche des meilleurs outils afin qu'ils restent opérationnels et utiles pour les différents acteurs touristiques.  

Ces outils ont pris la forme :

- D'articles de type « Saviez-vous que...? »  
- D'études de cas mettant en lumière des gestionnaires avant-gardistes
- De fiches thématiques (plein air, urbain, hiver, etc.)

RÉSULTATS

Le développement de ces différents outils vise une appropriation par les gestionnaires des connaissances sur les changements climatiques qui contribuera ultimement à une prise de décisions éclairées à différents niveaux (stratégie, opération, investissement) et la mise de l’avant d’actions innovantes.

Cliquez ici pour consulter la trousse d'informations du Programme Tourisme d'Ouranos.

CRÉDITS

Photo: Îles-de-la-Madeleine © Tourisme Québec/ Mondoux, Louise

Lumière sur nos réalisations

Sonder les clientèles pour adapter les guides touristiques

Québec

Lire Plus

Une gestion des données efficace pour des décisions éclairées !

Gaspésie, Qc

Lire Plus

Faire de l'Estriade une destination cyclotouristique de calibre international

Estrie, Qc

Lire Plus

Accompagner l'émergence touristique de Dieppe

Dieppe, N.-B.

Lire Plus